life

Love?

Love [luhv]

noun

1. a profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person.
2. a feeling of warm personal attachment or deep affection, as for parent, child, or friend.
3. sexual passion or desire.
4. a person toward whom love is felt; beloved person; sweetheart.
5. (used in direct address as a term of endearment, affection, or the like):
Would you like to see a movie, love?
6. a love affair; an intensely amorous incident; amour.
7. sexual intercourse; copulation.

 What is love? Why at times is it so difficult to say but other times we throw it out like it’s “hey what’s up? At what point does it become scary?
I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. The term love. I love my parents, I love the rest of my family, I love my best friends. But, when it comes to dating someone it’s like that word, the L word, becomes scary or intimidating. Well what if I say it and he doesn’t say it back? Should I wait until he says it and then say it back to him? But, what if he never says it? So then you start over thinking and pushing the person away because you’re setting yourself up to never be loved back! What if he’s just as terrified as you are and you’re both just sitting wondering if the other loves you back and then neither of you ever says it? So many thoughts!!!
If you were in a store and dropped your wallet not knowing and someone behind you noticed and flagged you down to get it to you, you might say “omg i love you you’re amazing.” When you first meet someone and realize you both share a love of pizza, or have the same taste in music (a fellow lover of bey) you might say ” omg yaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssss I freakin love you”. But, any movie you watch a guy does something great and the girl is so excited that she blurts out “I love you” and all hell breaks loose! Oh shit! The L word!!!!! At what point did it become weird or scary or make you “too attached”? Is there a certain amount of months you have to wait before you’re allowed to say it to your significant other? I’m pretty sure my best friend and I have been saying “kloveyoubye” at the end of phone or Facetime conversations since like week 3 of our friendship!
So what now? You love someone but you feel like you can’t say it!? SCREW IT! Stop feeling like you can’t express how you feel! Now don’t get crazy and decide you are madly inlove with the person you’re dating without really thinking about it because love is a serious term and shouldn’t be thrown around. But, if you feel like you REALLY love them….then say. Shout it! And if for some reason they reject you because it’s “too soon” then whatever they weren’t worth your time anyway.
I also feel like there is a difference between loving someone and being IN-love with them. But, that’s just going too far into the word so for now I’ll just end it here.
Final thought: Before you can really love someone, try discovering and loving yourself.
That it all. Kthanksbyeeeee

Disclaimer: Please don’t take this as “dating advice.” Trust me you don’t want that from me! Just thoughts from this brain I have!

I try to post at least once a week ( this is my second this week…go me!). Feel free to follow me on twitter and insta the links are on the side.→

 

Leave a Reply

