life

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher-no spoilers, just thoughts.

This is a post about a book…but I wouldn’t call it a “book review” more a “I read an awesome book that made me think and now I’m sharing my thoughts” yay!

Recently a friend told me about the book Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. With its upcoming Netflix movie being released soon she said I just HAD to read the book. After a couple days I finally bought it and sat down to begin. Honestly from the beginning I was hooked. I didn’t think the book would really grab my attention like that because I don’t really read novels like this.

It was so beautifully written the way the narration switched between the 2 characters so smoothly. In some ways that can be confusing it’s like 2 people telling you a story at the same time but the switches happened at the perfect time and just grabbed my attention even more. My attention isn’t the easiest to keep I can’t even begin to count the number of books I’ve started and just gave up. Sorry but Eat, Pray, Love was a task…I tried that one 3 times and never finished. Maybe now that I’m older it will be different but who knows if I will go back for round 4.

Anyway! Back to Thirteen Reason Why. I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone but I will say I thought I knew how the story would go but I was WRONG! Once I finally read the last page I wanted more. I wanted more of Hannah and Clay I wanted to know how the other characters felt but at the same time I knew the story was over. There really was nothing else to tell I was actually satisfied but I was just being greedy.

Sidenote: Do you ever finish a book and then you’re like….what now? You’ve gone on this journey with these people and these pages and these words and it has felt like an entire lifetime but really (at least this time for me ) it was literally 24 hours. Oh did I mention how easy of a read it is!!?

Once I was done I just thought about people. My friends, my family, strangers I walked by in the street. Have I given people enough of my time? Have I listened enough? Have I REALLY listened? I will say this, you truly never know what someone is going through. Life is hard and not everyone is going to just open up quickly and tell you what’s wrong. You may have to read between the lines and let people know that when they’re with you it’s a safe place, and they can trust you. Pay attention to those you care about and pay attention to people you just bump into. Remember that a smile, a thank you, a hello or a have a great day can go a long way especially for someone who may need some positive vibes thrown their way.

If you haven’t read this book I really suggest you do. Don’t just wait for the movie to be released on Netflix! The book is always better!

In the words of my fave lady at 4pm everyday, Ellen, “Be kind to one another”

kthanksbyeeeeeeeeeee

xoxo

National Suicide Prevention Hotline 1-800-273-8255

Leave a Reply

